Saturday 18:00
Andrejs Osokins and Sisters Balanas. Cinema Music

At this Cinema Music Concert by the Balanas sisters and Andrejs Osokins, the audience will live a lifetime of cinematic music from different countries - from lullabies through love and death to rebirth.

In the first part of the concert, Johannes Brahms' famous, mildly dreamy lullaby will be followed by the theme of unrelenting death, Opus 118 Intermzzco, concluding with the first piano trio, full of passionate and bubbling life energy.

The 2nd half of the concert will feature music from films like Franco Zeffirelli’s Romeo and Julliet, Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho, Ingmar Bergman’s Through a Glass Darkly, Stanley Kubrick’s Eyes Wide Shut, Andrei Tarkovsky’s The Sacrifice, Jean-Pierre Jeunet’s Amélie, Roman Polanski’s Rosemary’s Baby, Leonīds Leimanis’ With the Wealthy Lady, David Lynch’s Twin Peaks, Steven Spielberg’s Jaws and others. They include works by Nino Rota, Marģeris Zariņš, Yann Tiersen, Angelo Badalametti, John Williams, as well as Johann Sebastian Bach, Franz Liszt, Sergey Prokofiev and Claude Debussy performed with specially commissioned arrangements for violin, cello and piano for this concert.

All three young musicians have played in the most prestigious concert halls in the world, including the Berlin Philharmonic and the Wigmore Hall in London, performed solo with countless orchestras under the guidance of leading contemporary conductors and have been featured on Latvian Radio programs and BBC Radio 3. Osokins and the Balanas are also united by their love for Latvian contemporary music. They have brought the works of Arturs Maskats, Peteris Vasks and other outstanding Latvian composers to a wider audience throughout the world. The creative collaboration between cellist Margarita Balanas, violinist Kristine Balanas and pianist Andrejs Osokins began during their studies at the Royal Academy of Music in London. Since then, the musicians have performed together on various projects and compositions, but the Cinema Music program will be the most ambitious project for the trio ever.

The virtuosity of the musicians will be complemented by video projections by the artist Janis Romanovsky, created specifically for this program.

Andrejs Osokins, piano
Kristine Balanas, violin
Margarita Balanas, cello


Concert in two parts. Duration: approximately 120 minutes.

Tickets: starts from EUR 10.00. Ticket prices may change as the event approaches.
Unnumbered tickets only for visitors in wheelchairs.
The adult-age events and activities do not allow children under the age of 5.

School children, students, teachers, seniors - 25%
Seniors with group I and II disabilities, and their carers - 50%
Family tickets - 1 or 2 adults + 2 children (or more) – 25%

Group tickets:
10-30 persons - 20%
30 and more persons - 25%

Venue: Great Hall
Organised by: Great Amber