Paula ŠŪMANE / violin
Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius

Jean Sibelius – Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47
Pyotr Tchaikovsky – Manfred Symphony in B minor, Op. 58

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra and the Chief Conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius will open their 141st concert season by performing the Romantic music, putting emphasis on its thoughtful traits of Scandinavian nature. Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony, which is based on the Byron’s poem and inspired by the snow-covered Alpine scenery, tells about a mysterious and philosophical character looking for the meaning of life. While the Violin Concerto by Sibelius is a clash of numerous contrasts: the sensitive and dreaming versus the passionate and wild, the charming against the aggressive, the voice of a symphony orchestra versus the bright, soloistic virtuosity performed this time by the Latvian violinist Paula Šūmane.

ATTENTION: Concerts are planned with eased safety measures in mind, which means only hosting attendees who are vaccinated against or have recovered from Covid-19 and can confirm it with a valid Covid-19 certificate. More information on the website of the Culture of Ministry https://www.km.gov.lv/lv/jaunumi and www.Covid19sertifikats.lv.

Place: Great Hall, Concert hall Great Amber
Tickets: form 10.00 euros
Organized by: Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Event language: Latvian

School children, students, seniors – 2,- EUR
Family card "3+ ģimenes karte" holders – 30%

Dear visitors of Liepāja Symphony Orchestra concerts!

Concert Hall “Great Amber” already awaits its visitors an hour before the event.
Tickets for the events at the Concert Hall must be purchased by each visitor.

For visitors in wheelchairs and their companions we offer special seats in the stalls by prior arrangement. Special tickets can only be reserved and purchased at the Info centre at “Great Amber” by phone +371 63424555, e-mail info@lielaisdzintars.lv