2. APRIL 15.00


Concert series PERSONALLY

The experienced Riga Saxophone Quartet invite listeners to wake from a deep wintery slumber to a joyful, energetic and dynamic spring with a concert of the series
Personally. This will be the first significant solo concert with the new lineup with the promising alto saxophone player Aigars Raumanis. In the program, musicians will combine current works of the Quartet’s repertoire with new musical inspirations, revealing sketches of our multi-faceted world through music.

This will be the first full performance in Latvia of the six parts of the cycle Cuidades by Guillermo Lago, in which the composer has incorporated his musical sketches of personally important cities. The audience will be able to explore the Andalusian city of Córdoba in Spain, and even hotter rhythms from the capital of Ethiopia, Addis Ababa. The sounds of Cologne will reflect the Rhine, and Tokyo will shine in its exotic glory. A tango ballad will be dedicated to the ‘second capital of tango’, Montevideo in Uruguay, and the painfully delicate Sarajevo, having suffered war some decades ago, will represent the tragic side of contemporary reality.

A tender freshness will be brought into the program by the premiere of pianist Edgars Cīrulis’ new work, and the simple and inspiring tones of minimalism performed by the saxophone quartet will reveal in American composer Michael Torke’s July and Stub by British composer Graham Fitkin. The work of both contains influences from dance and jazz music. 

Dynamic and rhythmic music is also prevalent in the work of local composer and percussionist Rihards Zaļupe. He has written several pieces for the Riga Saxophone Quartet and a symphony orchestra, and the quartet will be accompanied by electronica in Extension in Blur. The composer himself describes this work as an impressionist painting that was created with inspiration from a photo installation by Australian-Latvian artist Roberts Birze.


Riga Saxophone Quartet:

Katrīna Kivleniece-Cābule, soprano saxophone 

Aigars Raumanis, alto saxophone

Ainars Šablovskis, tenor saxophone

Baiba Tilhena, baritone saxophone

Rīgas Saksofonu kvartets ar jaunu sastāvu un soloprogrammu "Pasaules skices" Liepājas koncertzālē!

Event duration:

15.00-16.00 / ~ 1h / koncerts vienā daļā

Organized by:

Lielais dzintars

Related news