22. SEPTEMBER 15.00


Biļetes no: 10 €

Concert series PERSONALLY

The Sinfonietta Rīga string quartet and master of electronics Normunds Šnē have created their program Maiden and Angels as a dialogue between two compositions embodying their respective eras – Franz Schubert’s String Quartet No. 14 Death and the Maiden (1824), and George Crumb’s electric string quartet Black Angels (1970). It will be interwoven with music-inspired poetry read by the author herself, the highly-esteemed Latvian poet Jana Egle.

The composition by the Austrian author is a great representation of its zeitgeist, filled with contrast and aching beauty, passion and drama, touching upon Death’s indecent flirtation with a maiden full of joie de vivre. 20th-century American avant-garde artist Crumb has referenced this masterpiece in his Vietnam-war-inspired opus.

In an attempt to capture senseless destruction and desire for justice and peace, the composer asked the musicians not only to play their string instruments, but also to sing and use glasses and percussions. ‘From the harmonic ideals of Schubert’s era, the listener will descend into the world of fallen angels, numerology, and a Babel of linguistic chaos. It will be a surreal adventure rooted in the reality of our age,’ say the artists of Sinfonietta Rīga, whose impressive performance will be accompanied by an ever-exciting narration by Orests Silabriedis.

Each composition will be mirrored in modern times through contemporary poetry by Jana Egle, created especially for this program. The writer and poet is the author of beloved collections of stories: Gaismā (2016), Svešie jeb miļeņkij ti moi (2018), and Dzimšanas diena (2020), as well as poetry compilations Dzirdēt noklusēto (2002) and Ledus debesis (2023). She is a recipient of the Liepāja Culture Award and Egons Līvs’ memorial award Krasta Ļaudis and was recognized as the author of the best work of prose at the 2017 Latvian Literature Awards.

Program: Franz Schubert, George Crumb, poetry by Jana Egle


Sinfonietta Rīga string quartet

Agnese Kanniņa, violin

Kristiāna Krūskopa, violin

Artūrs Gailis, alto

Kārlis Klotiņš, cello

Normunds Šnē, electronics

Orests Silabriedis, storyteller

Poet Jana Egle

Other events of the autumn 2024 season of the "Personally" concert series:

Orests Silabriedis iepazīstina ar koncertsērijas "Personīgi" rudens sezonas notikumiem


Great hall

Event duration:

15.00-16.40 / ~ 1h 40 min


Starting from 10.00 (Ticket prices may change closer to the event)

Intended for: 7+

Organized by:

Great Amber

Supported by:

Liepāja City Council and the State Culture Capital Foundation


  • Students, teachers, seniors – 25%

  • Persons with group I and II disabilities and their companions – 50%

  • For LV “3+ Family card” or LT “Šeimos kortelė” or EST “Perekaart” holders – 25%

NB.  Upon attending a concert, the attendee must show personal identification.

Group tickets:

  • 10–30 persons – 20%

  • 30 and more persons – 25%

Related news